Computing, Higher National Certificate (HNC)

Apply for Computing, Higher National Certificate (HNC) ...

This HNC in Computing will develop students as professional, self-reflecting individuals able to meet both the demands of employers in the computing sector and adapt to a constantly changing world. The qualification aims to widen access to higher education and enhance the career prospects of those who undertake it.

The course provides students with a thorough grounding in computing principles at Level 4 that leads on to a range of specialist progression pathways at Level 5, relating to individual professions within the computing sector.

Skills and Knowledge Developed:

At Level 4, students develop a broad knowledge and awareness of key aspects of the computing sector through eight core units, which include one unit assessed by a Pearson-set assignment.

These units are:

• Programming

• Networking

• Professional Practice

• Database Design and Development

• Security

• Managing a Successful Computing Project (Pearson-set unit)

• Software Development Lifecycles

• Website Design and Development.

Special Features:

We have designed the course delivery so that when possible we can include industry led courses such as CISCO and Oracle.

In order to ensure you are making your decisions based on accurate, up to date and complete information. All information about your course including the programme structure, entry requirements, fees and teaching & assessment methods is available to you via the prospectus.

Please see our HE Prospectus available in full online.